Oscillation project


The Oscillation is the newest project from Monochrome Clack group. The group comprises the creative activities of three artists (Éva Köves painter, Andrea Sztojánovits media artist, vj and Gábor Borosi musician) who build a unique connection between the traditional culture of image creation – painting, in the given case – and contemporary electronic art.

Their intermedial pieces of art are based on the finding that computer animation (movements, light, sound) projected on oil/canvas/photo paintings (painting-installations) not only establishes a new type of relation between visual arts and genres of literature but on meeting an active observer’s attitude it creates a new type of medium from the static elements of the painting and constantly changing elements of digital animation. In this case, the complexity of the artwork will be accepted even by those spectators and listeners, who otherwise would reflect only on some of the constituent elements of it – separately on the painting, or on the VJ-culture or the music.

The project contains four audiovisual painting installations in which the real time projected image distortions convert the organic hive forms into moving textures: the paintings become sensitive by sound reactive visualisations.

The aim of the project is to induce a unique chill atmosphere within the given environment, which causes surprising, calming, transcendental feelings in the viewer/participant through deeply sensed audiovisual impressions. The viewer is invited on a journey by the light animations reflecting on the flywheel-like motion of organic forms across the painting, the sound environment, momentary impressions, which form the installation and the live act.


  • Molecule Variations I. (reality layer)
    In Zoology a nest is an artificial edifice made of different materials built by some kinds of animals (spiders, fish, mammals, birds, bees) due to their natural instinct. The bird’s nest, usually a ‘unique work of art’, and the bees too are masters in building a nest just to maintain their species, to provide for their lives. In Molecule Variations I. the sound (emanating harmoniously from eight loudspeakers), painting and visualisation together induce a feeling of a swarming, a sense of the continuity of living with an infinite loop of sequences.

  • Molecule Variations III. (transcendental layer)
    The spiral composition of hive forms symbolise the circulation of life, the place where you come from and where you arrive.
    “As if the souls would set out from here to enter life with a sparkling diamond glow, transparently and in shining purity, of the sun-burnished kind of clean soul possessed by a little child. And as if every soul arriving here were muddled and distraught. The soft, tender, gelatinous, crystal, transparent, bird-like, warm little soul alight with the colours of the rainbow, when it returns from life to this hive, and the beekeeper, is distraught, stained and dark. Some are even quite dirty and grey.

The beekeeper takes the soul extracted from the hive into his hand. The now hardly conscious soul is panting faintly, stunned by the mysterious transformation that it has, and is undergoing in there, within the hive. Indeed, it is quite grubby. It seems this is a soul from the modern age. Nobody tells me, but in a dream everyone is given to understand things, even if no one explains. The beekeeper looks at it at length, shaking his head, and then finally says: ‘Oh you poor dear, you will soon have to return, when the time will have come, and you are still so muddled? When will you finally become clear?’ With that he carefully places the soul back in the hive and shuts it.”
– Béla Hamvas, A babérliget-könyv [The book of the laurel-grove], (Budapest: Médio Kiadó, 2005).
The installation has both a standard and a live act version, each reacting to the other installation as well through sound reactions.

  • Silvered Light I (cosmic layer)
    The bright tint of the painting comes from the shifted lighting of black surfaces. The sound reacted vortex dynamics of the projected lighting transforms the vision of the painting into a sense of moving, brightening relief, which indicates a three dimensional space in feelings.

  • Silvered Light II (spatial layer)
    In this spatially extended composition the audioreactive refractions of light that develop along the streamlines connecting the fragmented intersections create the relationships between the elements. The light throbbing, the repetitively circulating sound provide continuity in time.


The paintings: The creative methods of Éva Köves are novel, and exceptional: she mounts her photos on canvas, takes them further in paint, and then goes on to create mostly large painting-installations from them, at times consisting of over a dozen pieces.

The animations: Andrea Sztojánovits use the technology ‘projection mapping’ to create animations which perfectly fit to the paintings. She works in After Effects and Blender after creates the compositions in Quartz Composer to make the sound reactions for each piece of the installations (14 MIDI inputs and 1 audio input in total). The final output of the compositions run in MadMapper software, during the live act in Modul8 as well.

The sound: Gábor Borosi build his own diy sound card systems into the installations – 1 has 8 channel diy soundcard, 1 has 4 channel diy soundcard, 1 has stereo inputs and the 4th one has 1 mono input. He works with Ableton Live and creates this 15 channel sound composition for the projekt in it.
The paintings and the projected audioreactive visuals together compose the visible structure of the animations.

Project participants: Éva Köves, Andrea Sztojánovits, Gábor Borosi

See more on Oscillation Project webpage